De Soto Band Band

  • Overall Record: N/A
  • Conference Record: N/A
Wildcats Official Sponsor

rss_feed Latest News

NEKMEA District Honor Band

Congratulations to the following students who made the NEKMEA District Honor Band this year. Trenton Biggerstaff – French Horn Alt. Jared Carlton – Bassoon Connor Cravens – Bari Sax Alt. Josh Daniels – Trumpet Quinton Marschall – Contra Bass Clarinet Savannah Stine – Trombone Daniel Smith – Trombone Zach Yarbrough – Euphonium

Baker University Grand Champions

The DHS Marching Band earned the title of the Baker University Marching Festival Grand Champion on Wednesday, October 11th. This is the 3rd consecutive Grand Champion at the Baker University Marching Festival for the DHS Marching Wildcats. The Drumline and Color Guard (Dazzlers) also both received the highest rating of 1 during this competition. Baker

Four State Honor Band Concert

34th Annual Four State Honor Band Concert The 34th Annual Four State Honor Band Concert was held in the Bicknell Family Center for the Arts, in Pittsburg, Kansas on May 4th, 2017. Two hundred high school musicians, selected from across the four state region of Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma and Arkansas, met to prepare for the

State Band Rankings

On April 29th our Band Students performed at the State Music Festival. Here is a list of their Rankings: Trenton Biggerstaff 2 Jared Carlton 1 Josh Daniels 2 Kayla Deghand 1 Zaid Gratz 1, 1 Sam Howe 1, 2 Makenna Kerr 2 Savannah Stine 2 Evan Sullivan 2 Trevor Whitlow 1, 1 Aneka Zarger 2

2017-18 Band Leadership

The 2017-18 De Soto High School Band has made their selections for Band Leadership! Drum Majors Elizabeth Seidl, Daniel Smith, Abigail Stutzman, Zach Yarbrough Section Leaders WOODWINDS Flute: Lina Al-Tahhan, Jordan Mahnken Clarinets: Jared Carlton, Haley Blickenstaff, Quinton Marschall Alto Saxophone: Keirstyn Mascareno, Brandon Parker Tenor Saxophone: Kay Craven, Martin Searcy Bari Saxophone: Kyler Gish, Connor Kmiecjk BRASS Trumpet: Camille Poulain, Trenton Biggerstaff, Daniel Searcy Mellophone: Morgan

2017-18 Symphonic Band

The De Soto High School Symphonic Band auditions are complete. Congratulations to the 2017-18 DHS Symphonic Band members! Flute Abby Martin Sheridan Frick Lina Al-Tahan Hayle Ellis Jordan Mahnken Victoria Ashlock Erilyn Meo Kaitlyn Andres Oboe Martin Searcy Bassoon Jared Carlton Clarinet Makenna Kerr Taisia Sarazov Lauren Stanton Elizabeth Seidl Jodie Bedford Kati Gribble Lauren

KMEA All State Ensembles

On Thursday, Feb 23rd, 5 DHS band members had the privilege of traveling to Wichita for the Kansas Music Educators Association Annual In-Service Workshop.  These students auditioned for and were selected to participate in the prestigious All-State Ensembles that are comprised of the strongest musicians from all Kansas high schools.  Jared Carlton (junior) was selected

All State Band

De Soto High School recently had 5 students named to the Kansas Music Educators All State Band. Jared Carlton, 2nd Chair Bassoon Orchestra Sam Howe, 2nd Chair Bassoon 5/6A Band Trevor Whitlow, 1st Chair Tenor Sax 5/6A Band Ian Ahaus, 3rd Chair Trumpet 5/6A Band Matthew Lynn, 4th Chair Tuba 5/6A Band Please congratulate these

All District Band

DHS Band members auditioned for the Northeast Kansas Music Educators Associate All District Band on Saturday, November 12th. We are proud of all the students who auditioned and please congratulate the following students for making this year’s group for NEKMEA All District Band. Jared Carlton: Bassoon Sam Howe: Bassoon Trevor Whitlow: 2nd Chair Tenor Sax

Grand Champions

The DHS Marching Band earned the title of the Baker University Marching Festival Grand Champion on Wednesday, October 12th. This is the second year in a row that DHS has taken this honor. Baker University and the Baker University Bands host this annual event.  The festival is a 1A-5A Marching Band Festival at Liston Stadium