Football Coaches


Brian King

Position: Head Coach
Email: bking@usd232.org

Bio:
This will be Coach King’s 7th year at De Soto High School, and third year as head coach.  Before coming to DHS Coach King spent two years at Royal Valley High School, one year at Onaga High School, and one year at Rock Creek High School. Coach King spent his collegiate years at Emporia State University as a running back from 2000 through 2004.  He graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in Education.  His high school years were spent at Onaga High School, where he graduated in 2000. Coach King is married to his wife Audrey King.  They have three young children – Addison, Briggam, and Canton.



Joel Thaemert

Position: Assistant Coach
Email: jthaemert@usd232.org

Bio:
Coach Thaemert is the Defensive Coordinator for the Wildcats. Joel attended Fort Hays State University where he played baseball and majored in Mathematics. Coach Thaemert taught and coached previously at Russell High School in Russell, Kansas.  He was an assistant for eight years and the Head Coach for four years. He was also the Head Baseball Coach for ten years in Russell, and holds this same title here at DHS. In 2013-2014 the DHS Baseball team won the 4-A State Championship. Coach Thaemert and his wife DeAnn have two children:  Jaycie and Jackson.



Mark Gastelum

Position: Assistant Coach
Email: mgastelum@usd232.org

Bio:
Coach Gastelum joined the DHS football staff in the Fall of 2008 as the Offensive and Defensive Line Coach. He now serves as the Offensive Coordinator as well. Coach Gastelum is a native of Baldwin City, KS and attended Baker University where he was a 2 year starter along the offensive line.  He coached junior high football at Baldwin Junior High for two years while completing his degree. Mark teaches eighth grade Social Studies at Mill Creek Middle School. Coach Gastelum and his wife Mary have a son, Isaac.



Tod Hessong

Position: Assistant Coach
Email: thessong@usd232.org

Bio:
2017-18 is Coach Hessong’s 12th year at DHS. He is an assistant football coach, but has also coached basketball, baseball, track, and is also the head golf coach. Before coming to DHS he has spent time coaching football at Fort Scott High School, track at Northeast-Arma High School, and basketball at D-III Scranton University. Coach Hessong graduated from Fort Scott High School, then attended Pittsburg State University where he participated in track and obtained a bachelor’s of science in computer science and education. He is married to Danielle Hessong, and has two kids – Reese & Carter.




Lynn Hoffman

Position: Assistant Coach
Email: lhoffman@usd232.org

Bio:


John Stark

Position: Assistant Coach
Email: jstark@usd232.org

Bio:



Bob Gadwood

Position: Assistant Coach
Email: rgadwood@usd232.org

Bio:



Justin Pickens

Position: Assistant Coach
Email: jpickens@usd232.org

Bio:


Dale Hurt

Position: Assistant Coach
Email: dhurt@usd232.org

Bio:


James Grizzle

Position: Assistant Coach
Email: jgrizzle@usd232.org

Bio: