Multiple Teams · Cross Country Season Starts at Greg Wilson Classic

The De Soto high school cross country team started the 2019 season Saturday at the Greg Wilson Classic. The Wildcats competed against almost 20 area teams from both Kansas and Missouri.

Junior Carson Sturdy was the Runner-Up for the varsity boys, finishing the 5,000 meter race with a personal record time of 16:04. Sturdy found himself in sixth place after one mile, then moved up to third after two miles. He used a strong and strategic finish to pass an opponent in the final stretch to take second place. Teammates Kyle Newberry (39), Jack Loomis (58), and Owen Gier (69) also ran impressive races, each setting new personal record times.

Justine Wheeler lead the way for the varsity girls, finishing the race with a time of 21:32. Wheeler put herself in good position early, near the middle of the pack. Then she passed opponents throughout final two miles finishing 31st. Teammates Erin Pickert (38), Lane Hileman (40) and Abby Sheerin (42) ran the best race of their careers, each setting  new personal record times.

Junior Luke LaCombe and sophomore Alison Roy were the first DHS runners across the finish line for the junior varsity boys and girls respectively. Many of the JV runners established new personal record times as well.

The Wildcats are in action again this Thursday when they host the second annual De Soto Invitational at Lexington Lake Park.  Junior varsity races begin at 4:00 pm, with varsity races starting at 5:00 pm.



DHS Results – 2019 Greg Wilson Classic 

Boys Varsity

Carson Sturdy – 16:04.40 (2nd)

Kyle Newberry – 17:17.10 (39th)

Jack Loomis – 17:53.40 (58th)

Owen Gier – 18:27.60 (69th)


Boys Junior Varsity

Luke LaCombe – 19:07.50 (33rd)

CJ Krudwig – 19:46.10 (59th)

Kaleb Barners – 19:47.30 (62nd)

Jamie Brown – 19:48.20 (63rd)

Brady Hudelson – 19:50.60 (68th)

Colby Loomis – 20:01.10 (78th)

Keaton Higgins – 21:13.90 (141st)

Luke Marriott – 22:42.40 (224th)

Steven Kilburn – 22:45.50 (227th)


Girls Varsity

Justine Wheeler – 21:32.80 (31st)

Erin Pickert – 21:45.90 (38th)

Lane Hileman – 21:47.00 (40th)

Abby Sheerin – 21:52.60 (42nd)


Girls Junior Varsity

Alison Roy – 23:59.20 (25th)

Katie Beyer – 24:46.20 (34th)

Kimmy Ippel – 27:21.10 (64th)

Harley Neubauer – 30:18.00 (90th)