Varsity Scholars Bowl · Scholars Bowl wins State Championship

On February 10th, the De Soto Scholars Bowl team competed at the 5A State Championship, hosted at De Soto High School. The team consisted of Cody Moose, Abigail Stutzman, Elizabeth Seidl, Zach Yarbrough, Micah Faulds, and Cody Murphy. During pool play, the team went 5-2, losing to St. James and Bishop Carroll. The record earned the team the third seed in the finals, which took place in the black box in front of a large audience of parents, students, and supporters. There, the team played second seed Bishop Caroll and answered the final two questions to pull ahead and win by a score of 45-35. In the finals, the team beat first seed St. James 100-5, avenging both of its previous losses, and winning the state championship!