Skip to content


  • Spring Signing Day

  • State Wrestling

  • Five Wrestlers Qualify

  • Wrestlers Finish Second

Spring Signing Day

On Wednesday, May 3rd De Soto High School held its Spring Signing Day for five Senior student-athletes. Congratulations to the following student-athletes on signing to participate in college athletics! Katey Hinds – Cheerleading at Allen County Community College Andrew Dowdy – Soccer at Baker University Ty Kempf – Baseball at Baker University Jackson Thaemert – […]

Panagakis and McQuality Place 3rd and 4th at State Wrestling Tournament

The De Soto wrestling team ended the season this weekend at the Kansas 5A State Wrestling Tournament in Wichita. Senior Nate Panagakis (170) led the Wildcats with a 4-1 record to finish third in the state. Senior Caleb McQuality (220) recorded a 3-2 record, good for fourth in the state. The two wrestlers became 18th […]

Five Wrestlers Qualify for State

The De Soto High School wrestling team competed in the Kansas 5A Regional Wrestling Tournament Friday and Saturday in Leavenworth. The 16-team, post season tournament determined who will wrestle in the Kansas State Wrestling Tournament next weekend in Wichita. Five Wildcats qualified for State by finishing in the top of their individual weight classes. Senior […]

Eight Wrestlers Earn All-League Honors

The De Soto High School wrestling team competed in the Frontier League Championship Friday and Saturday. The tournament featured the seven Frontier League schools wrestling duals against each other to determine a team champion. Eight individual Wildcat wrestlers earned All Frontier League honors by finishing in the top four of their weight class. Senior Nate […]

Wildcat Wrestlers Win Senior Night

The De Soto High School varsity wrestling team hosted Eudora for Senior Night this past Thursday. The Wildcats defeated the Cardinals 64-15. The dual featured victories by all seven De Soto seniors; Dustin Pierce, Michael Lynn, Justin Vossmer, Nate Panagakis, Michael Zuchowski, Caleb McQuality, and Lawson Marshall. The Wildcats wrestle again this Friday and Saturday […]

Eight Wrestlers Place in Final JV Tournament

The De Soto junior varsity wrestling team completed their 2016-2017 season Saturday at the Blue Valley Invitational Tournament. The Wildcats competed against 18 other schools from across the Kansas City metro. Eight wrestlers earned medals by placing in their respective brackets, including two weight class champions. Jack Mize (152lbs) and Michael Mashburn (285lbs) went undefeated […]

Wrestlers Compete in Area Tournaments

The De Soto wrestling team saw action in two different tournaments Saturday. The varsity team competed in the Baldwin Invitational Tournament while the junior varsity team wrestled at Olathe North. Six varsity wrestlers placed in their respective weigh classes. Nate Panagakis (170lbs) finished third, Caleb McQuality (220lbs) finished fourth, Chase Carter (152lbs) finished fifth, Lane […]

De Soto High School Coed Varsity Wrestling beat Highland Park High School 40-39

Wednesday, January 25, 2017 5:30 PM De Soto High School AWAY 40 Highland Park High School HOME 39 Meet Recap 106 – Nick Nguyen lost by fall 113 – Lane Warner won 16-3 120 – Dylan Dossett lost by fall 126 – Evan Werner won by forfeit 132 – Logan Lancaster won by fall 138 […]

Wrestlers Finish Second in the De Soto Duals Tournament

The De Soto High School varsity wrestling team competed in the first-ever De Soto Duals Tournament Friday night. The Wildcats finished second in the eight-team tournament with a record of 4-1. De Soto defeated Bonner Springs 36-34 in the opening round of competition. Seniors Nate Panagakis and Lawson Marshall led the team, pinning their opponents […]

Wildcats Wrestle in the Derby Invitational Tournament

The De Soto High School wrestling team competed in the Derby Invitational this weekend. The two-day tournament featured 14 teams and hundreds of wrestlers from schools across Kansas. The Wildcats were represented by Evan Werner (126lbs), Dustin Pierce (138lbs), Michael Lynn (145lbs), Justin Vossmer (160lbs), Nate Panagakis (170lbs), Caleb McQuality (220lbs), and Lawson Marshall (285lbs). […]